top of page


Iris Leigh Barnes, Ph.D.

Associate Director and Curator

Dr. Iris Leigh Barnes is the Associate Director and Curator of the Lillie Carroll Jackson Civil Rights Museum in Baltimore, which is an offsite unit of Morgan State University. She earned her doctorate degree in History with a concentration in African American and Twentieth-Century United States History; her master's degree in Museum Studies and Historical Preservation; and her bachelor's degree in Graphic Design and Art Education.


Dr. Barnes has received numerous awards: the Excellence in Exhibitions and Programming Award from the Maryland Historical Trust, a Diversity Fellowship from the National Trust for Historic Preservation, The Breaking the M.O.L.D. Fellowship for emerging leaders in higher education, and the John Kinard SEMC JIMI Award from the Smithsonian National Museum for African American History and Culture, among them.


She serves on the Maryland Lynching Truth and Reconciliation Commission and Harford County Historic Preservation  Commission and recently served on the Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture and the Walter's Art Museum Engagement Committee. She is a Certified Interpretive Guide through the National Association of Interpretation (NAI), specializing in training museum staff in developing inclusive interpretation that gives voice and agency to marginalized groups.



Kadija Hart, M.A.

Program and Education Coordinator

Kadija Hart, a dedicated professional with over a decade of experience in neighborhood stabilization and revitalization in Northeast Baltimore, draws inspiration from her parents' servant-leadership ethos. Committed to community-engaged, equity-driven projects, Kadija pursued advanced education at the Maryland Institute College of Arts (MICA) Center for Social Design, earning an MA in Social Design with a focus on donor and community engagement intersectionality.


As the founder of the Quincy Morgan Group, Kadija leads a collective of equity-driven community design thinkers, collaborating with institutions such as Morgan State University and the Baltimore Public Markets Corporation on impactful projects. Her acceptance into the Social Innovation Lab at Johns Hopkins Technology Venture and participation in programs like The T.Rowe Price Feedback Loop Crash Course reflect her dedication to innovative, sustainable solutions for Baltimore.

Kadija's contributions have been recognized through awards such as MICA's Leslie King-Hammond Graduate Award and The Fred Lazarus Leadership Award for Social Change, highlighting her significant impact on arts education, health equity, and community leadership. As a Belair-Edison Community Association Community Champion and recipient of the Associated Black Charities Women on the Move award, she continues to volunteer and advocate for underserved communities. Her diverse interests encompass community decision-making power, social determinants of health, education rights, arts integration, and holistic health, solidifying her role as a transformative leader in Baltimore's diverse landscape.


Gabriel Tenabe

Director of the Office of Museums

Gabriel Tenabe is the Director of the Office of Museums. He has been active with the James E. Lewis Museum of Art (JELMA) for more than thirty years and has served as the Director of the JELMA since 1990.  He has an extensive background in the arts and museum studies. He received his Teachers' Certificate in education from Owo Divisional Teachers Training College in Nigeria.  He is a co-founder of the Society of Professional Artists of Nigeria. He received his Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Arts degree in Art History and Museology from Morgan State University. A major part of his training was under the direct guidance of James E. Lewis. The Lillie Carroll Jackson Civil Rights Museum falls under the Office of Museums, which Mr. Tenabe oversees. 

bottom of page